2020 Members Show

1 – 31 March 2020

Opening Sat 29th Feb 4.30 - 6pm @ NZG

The New Zealand Society of Artists in Glass (NZSAG) in conjunction with New Zealand Glassworks (NZG) are proud to present - 2020 Members Show – NZSAG 40th Anniversary Exhibition. NZSAG was formed in 1980 to represent New Zealand’s established glass artists, to foster new talent and to promote contemporary glass to the wider community. New Zealand Glassworks (NZG) is one of Whanganui’s premier facilities and is the national centre for glass in New Zealand. The exhibition will feature a wide range of new works by New Zealand based artists from within the society from the 1st of March – 31st of March 2020.

The exhibition provides a platform for emerging and established artists to educate and delight the broader community through the presentation of new work; highlighting the creative endeavours of the society. The exhibition is a great way to start an art glass collection or add to your existing collection of art work.

To mark the 40th anniversary NZSAG will be awarding a $1000.00 cash prize. The exhibition entries will be judged and a winner chosen by leading industry peers and the award given on opening night of the exhibition.

In conjunction with the exhibition NZG will be rehanging and displaying the CoLab Chandelier. The Crystal Chain Gang (with lots of help!) made a collaborative chandelier for The CoLab Conference – February 2019. NZSAG & Ausglass Members were collaborative partners in this exciting project, which saw artists collectively create a dynamic, illuminated and unique work of art glass. The finished piece was on exhibition at the Sarjeant Gallery over the course of the conference and will now hang in it permanent home above the hot shop floor at NZG.

NZSAG Website / Facebook / Instagram

Awards update

40th Anniversary Award: Isaac Katzoff with 'The Bag'

First in Show Award: Lisa Mak with 'Yesterday's Flowers'

People's Choice Award: Di Tocker with 'Submerge #8'

Congratulations to the artists involved: Caren Ashford, Karin Barr, Thomas Barter, Lisa Bate, Claire Bell, Stephen Bradbourne, Hannah Bremner, Katie Brown, Christine Cathie, Bob Gibbs, Keith Grinter, Graeme D. Hitchcock, Marcus Ingley , Jenny Judge, Issac Katsoff, Nejat Kavvas, Heather Kremen, Richard Landers, Lisa Mak, Ainsley O’Connell, Carmen Simmonds, Natasha Sim, Roz Speirs, Greg Swinburne, Di Tocker, David Traub, Layla Walter.

2020 Members Show